repoman

Technique question, muting unwanted strings on a fast lick.

Say I'm doing a lick that repeats and it's these notes.

15th fret B string

12th fret B string

14th fret G string

12th fret B string

I've got a little flaw in my playing where I sound the open G when removing my finger off the 14th fret.  I'm not pulling off but I still get the open G sound.

I watched Gary Holt (Exodus/Slayer) playing the lick and he doesn't get much unwanted noise but I couldn't see him muting it in any way, it just didn't sound.

How would you keep it clean?  Also if alternate picking, would you start with an upstroke?

44 minutes ago, repoman said:

...How would you keep it clean?...

I don't know the song concerned (and I'm a drummer, so...), but I tried this and barre the 12fret 'G' and 'B' strings, so never get an open 'G'. I used only upstrokes (no pick; I never knew how to use 'em...), and use the Ring finger to alternate between the B-15 and the G-14. I can't get stupid fast (did I say that I'm a drummer..?, but it sounds clean to me. Not sure if this helps at all. :$

• Like 1

17 hours ago, Dad3353 said:

I don't know the song concerned (and I'm a drummer, so...), but I tried this and barre the 12fret 'G' and 'B' strings, so never get an open 'G'. I used only upstrokes (no pick; I never knew how to use 'em...), and use the Ring finger to alternate between the B-15 and the G-14. I can't get stupid fast (did I say that I'm a drummer..?, but it sounds clean to me. Not sure if this helps at all. :$

It isn't my playing style either, although I used to be very much into thrash. But I would also do as @Dad3353 suggests. I would also barre the 12th fret. And if just doing this lick I would be starting with a downstroke, but it would depend on what the riff was before it.

A barred G would sound a G note on the 12th fret.  I'm trying to avoid that. 

It's actually more of a Jimmy Page lick than a thrash one apparently.

Cheers though.

5 minutes ago, repoman said: